About me

I live with my girlfriend in Martigny (Valais, Switzerland) and work as research assistant at the Idiap Research Institute. I grew up in the Chablais valaisans, near to my actual position, and I studied at EPFL where I obtained a Bachelor in Microengineering (2014) and then a Master in Robotics and Autonomous Systems (2016).

Rémy Siegfried

During my freetime, I practice Judo at the Judo Club Saint-Maurice, which I am vice-chairman. I study this martial art since 22 years and reached the 2nd Dan (black belt) this year. I train myself one or two times a week, teach children and assist them during tournaments.
I also like to play videogames and tabletop roleplaying games with my friends.

Current Research

I am a PhD student at EPFL (EDEE) and I am currently working at Idiap as a research assistant in the Perception and Activity Understanding group under the supervision of Jean-Marc Odobez.

Idiap Research Institute
Perception and Activity Understanding

In the frame of the MuMMER project (by which my work is funded), I am working on modeling and infering attention in Human-Robot Interactions. Exploiting color and depth images as well as audio data, my goal is to estimate the individual attention of a group of people that is interacting with the robot. This information will allow it to better understand conversations dynamic and to react properly in social interactions.

Visual focus of attention estimation

More and more intelligent systems, like robots, have to interact with humans. In order to participate in a conversation and behave naturally, those systems need to understand the conversation dynamic. A key factor of this dynamic is the attention of people, which is useful to estimate addressees, turn-changes, engagement of participants and so on. However, it is a complex behavior and cognitive process, which is actually difficult to observe for a computer.

In order to tackle this challenge, the visual focus of attention (VFOA), i.e. where the person is looking, can be used as a proxy for the attention. Thus, estimating the VFOA of participants in a discussion and more generally modeling the conversation dynamic will improve the capacity of intelligent systems like robots to better understand humans and to react properly in a social interaction. Implementing those models on a real robot will add constraints on the already challenging task of attention estimation, like the access to partial scene information, highly dynamic environment and the need for real-time processing.

Gaze bias estimation

Gaze is an important non-verbal cue involved in many facets of social interactions like communication, attentiveness or attitudes. Nevertheless, extracting gaze directions visually and remotely usually suffers large errors because of low resolution images, inaccurate eye cropping, or large eye shape variations across the population, amongst others. We proposed a method that exploites the interaction context to compensate for the gaye estimation bias, relying mainly on the speaking status of participants.

Short presentation video (youtube)

Past Activities

Thymio Robot Visual Programming Language (VPL)

2016 I did my Master Project at MOBOTS (EPFL) under the supervision of Francesco Mondada. I worked in the field of learning analytics with mobile robots. I worked on methods that use the logs taken during a robot programming lecture to provide useful information to teachers and students in order to increase the learning outcome of lectures. I was then hired for 6 more monthes to continue my master project and develop a tool that provides on-line hints to students learning robotic programming based on the results of my master project.

2015 I worked during 7 monthes for senseFly (in Cheseaux-sur-Lausanne) on the motor control of their quadrotor and the development of an interface between a new camera and a fixed-wing drone.

Albris, le quadrotor de SenseFly
Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

2014-2015 During my studies, I performed two semester projects: one on the implementation of safety behaviour on quadrotor formation (at DISAL (EPFL)) and a second on the design of legs for a quadruped robot (at BIOROB (EPFL))

Media

29.08.2018 - Idiap's Innovation Days 2018 (video from the "20 Minutes" newspaper) during which I was presenting a demo of an head and gaze tracker (head position and orientation, gaze direction, attention target).

Publications

Facing Employers and Customers: What Do Gaze and Expressions Tell About Soft Skills?
S. Muralidhar, R. Siegfried, J.-M. Odobez and D. Gatica-Perez
International Conference on Mobile and Ubiquitous Multimedia (MUM), Cairo, November 2018

Towards the Use of Social Interaction Conventions As Prior for Gaze Model Adaptation 
R. Siegfried, Y. Yu and J.-M. Odobez 
ACM International Conference on Multimodal Interaction (ICMI), Glasgow, November 2017

Supervised Gaze Bias Correction for Gaze Coding in Interactions 
R. Siegfried and J.-M. Odobez 
Communication by Gaze Interaction (COGAIN) Symposium, Wuppertal, August 2017

Improved mobile robot programming performance through real-time program assessment 
R. Siegfried, S. Klinger, M. Gross, R. W. Sumner, F. Mondada and S. Magnenat 
ACM Conference on Innovation and Technology in Computer Science Education (ITiCSE), Bologna, July 2017

Informations personelles

Je vie actuellement avec ma copine à Martigny (Valais, Suisse) et je travaille comme assistant de recherche à l'Institut de Recherche de l'Idiap. J'ai grandi dans le Chablais Valaisans, prêt de mon lieu de vie actuel, et j'ai étudié à l'EPFL où j'ai obtenu un Bachelor (BSc) en microtechnique (2014) puis un Master (MSc) en robotique et systèmes autonomes (2016).

Rémy Siegfried

Pendant mon temps libre, je pratique le Judo au Judo Club Saint-Maurice, dont je suis vice-président. J'étudie cet art martial depuis 22 ans et j'ai obtenu le 2e Dan (ceinture noire) cette année. Je donne des cours aux enfants de 8 à 12 ans et je les coachs en compétition.
Je suis aussi un fan de jeux vidéos et de jeu de rôle sur table, auxquels je joue régulièrement avec mes amis.

Recherche actuelle

Je suis actuellement doctorant à l'EPFL (EDEE) et je travaille à l'Idiap comme assistant de recherche dans le groupe Perception and Activity Understanding sous la supervision de Jean-Marc Odobez.

Idiap Research Institute
Perception and Activity Understanding

Dans le cadre du projet MuMMER (qui finance mes recherches), je travaille sur la modélisation et l'estimation de l'attention dans les interactions homme-robots. En exploitant des images venant d'une caméra couleur+profondeur ainsi que des données audio, mon but est d'estimer l'attention individuelle d'un groupe de personnes lorsqu'elles interagissent avec un robot. Cette information permettra aux robots (ou à d'autres systèmes intelligents) de mieux saisir la dynamique de la conversation et ainsi de réagir de manière plus appropriée dans le contexte d'une interaction sociale.

Estimation du centre d'attention visuel

De plus en plus de systèmes intelligents, comme des robots, doivent interagir avec des êtres humains. Afin de participer à une conversation et se comporter naturellement, ces systèmes ont besoin de comprendre la dynamique de la conversation. La perception de l'attention des participants est un facteur clé de cette dynamique et elle permet entre autre d'estimer la personne à qui un participant s'adresse, les prises de paroles, l'engagement des participants dans la conversation, etc. Cependant, l'attention est un comportement complexe et un procédé cognitif qui est difficile à observer pour un agent artificiel.

Afin de relever ce défi, le centre d'attention visuel (CAV), c'est-à-dire où une personne est en train de regarder, peut-être utilisé comme remplacement pour l'attention. Ainsi, estimer le CAV des participants à une discussion et plus généralement modéliser la dynamique d'une conversation permet aux systèmes intelligents comme les robots de mieux comprendre les humains et de réagir correctement lorsqu'ils interagissent avec nous. Implémenter ces modèles sur de vrais robots ajoute des contraintes à la tâche déjà complexe d'estimer l'attention: un robot dispose d'un point de vue unique de ce qui l'entoure, il évolue en général dans des environnements hautement dynamiques et il doit traiter toutes les informations qu'il reçoit en temps-réel.

Estimation du biais du regard

Le regard est une composante non-verbale importante incluse dans de nombreuses facettes des interactions sociales comme la communication, l'attention ou l'attitude. Néanmoins, l'extraction de la direction du regard par des capteurs visuels et distants (comme des caméras) souffre en général d'erreurs importantes causées par la faible résolution des images des yeux, les erreurs de localisation des yeux ou la variation de la forme des yeux entre différentes personnes, entre autres. Pour compenser ces erreurs d'estimation, nous avons proposé une méthode qui exploite le contexte de l'interaction en se basant principalement sur les tours de parole.

Courte vidéo de présentation (youtube)

Activitées passées

Thymio Robot Visual Programming Language (VPL)

2016 J'ai effectué mon projet de Master au MOBOTS (EPFL) sous la supervision de Francesco Mondada. J'ai travaillé dans le domaine de l'analyse de l'apprentissage avec des robots mobiles et participé au développement de méthodes qui utilisent des logs enregistrés pendant des leçons de programmations de robot pour fournir des informations utiles aux enseignants et aux élèves dans le but d'augmenter l'efficacité de ces cours. J'ai ensuite été engagé 6 mois de plus pendant lesquels nous avons développé un outil qui fournit des conseils immédiats à des élèves qui apprennent à programmer un robot basé sur les résultats constatés lors de mon projet de Master. Ce travail fut publié en 2017.

2015 J'ai travaillé 7 mois chez senseFly (à Cheseaux-sur-Lausanne) sur le contrôle moteur de leur quadrotor et le dévelopement d'une interface entre leur drone fix-wing et une nouvelle caméra.

Albris, le quadrotor de SenseFly
Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

2014-2015 Pendant mes études, j'ai réalisé deux projets semestriels: un premier sur l'implémentation de comportements de sécurité pour une formation de drones de type quadrotors (au DISAL) et un second sur le design de nouvelles jambes pour un robot quadrupède (au BIOROB)

Media

29.08.2018 - Innovation Days 2018 à l'Idiap (video du journal "20 Minutes") dans laquelle je présente une démo d'un trackeur de visage et de regard (position et orientation de la tête, direction du regard, cible de l'attention).

Publications

Facing Employers and Customers: What Do Gaze and Expressions Tell About Soft Skills?
S. Muralidhar, R. Siegfried, J.-M. Odobez and D. Gatica-Perez
International Conference on Mobile and Ubiquitous Multimedia (MUM), Cairo, November 2018

Towards the Use of Social Interaction Conventions As Prior for Gaze Model Adaptation 
R. Siegfried, Y. Yu and J.-M. Odobez 
ACM International Conference on Multimodal Interaction (ICMI), Glasgow, November 2017

Supervised Gaze Bias Correction for Gaze Coding in Interactions 
R. Siegfried and J.-M. Odobez 
Communication by Gaze Interaction (COGAIN) Symposium, Wuppertal, August 2017

Improved mobile robot programming performance through real-time program assessment 
R. Siegfried, S. Klinger, M. Gross, R. W. Sumner, F. Mondada and S. Magnenat 
ACM Conference on Innovation and Technology in Computer Science Education (ITiCSE), Bologna, July 2017